The PIFT (Pacific Islanders in Film and Television Inc.) Annual General Meeting was held at Auckland Art Gallery (Board Room) on Saturday 18th November (2pm – 3pm) and saw a number of the PIFT membership gather. The meeting was presided over by PIFT administrator and Executive Director Aaron Taouma.

The PIFT Annual Report was presented and nominations taken for board membership.

Board members who resigned from the previous board are – Sima Urale, Lisa Taouma, Ali Cowley and Yolande Ah Chong – those present at the meeting took a moment to offer thanks to them for their service to the board and wish them well. They now sit in the PIFT Advisory Group as advisors to the board.

The Outgoing Statement of Chair Sima Urale can be read here –

The statement of the Executive can also be read here –

Nominations to the board had been accepted by email and were also taken from the floor. It was agreed that all nominations would be accepted and vote for a Chair would be deferred to the first meeting of the new board to be held as soon as was possible, preferably before the end of the year.

Nominations to the Board of PIFT accepted are – Ngaire Fuata (producer), Sandra Kailahi (producer), Adrian Stevanon (producer), Kim Tuaine (entrepreneur), Jeremiah Tauamiti (director/producer), Amberley Jo Aumua (director), and Louise Tu’u (writer) – previously sitting members continuing this term are Louisa Tipene Opetaia, Miliama Setefano and Aaron Taouma who continues as Executive Director and administrator. PIFT Wellington representative Mishelle Muagututi’a was also incorporated into the board for the purpose of running and reporting back on the Wellington network and its activities.

The meeting closed with best wishes to all and those present were invited to attend the Pollywood Pasifika Films showing of films in the main auditorium.

Unuhia, unuhia
Unuhia ki te uru tapu nui
Kia wātea, kia māmā, te ngākau, te tinana, te wairua i te ara takatā
Koia rā e Rongo, whakairia ake ki runga
Kia tina! TINA! Hui e! TĀIKI E!